bougy//bisous

minx!

with 12 comments

so! i went and got my first set of Minx nails done on friday at Heartbreaker Salon. um, i really, really love them. the fact that Heartbreaker is just around the corner makes me slightly worried for how often i may go back to indulge.


it takes about an hour to apply all ten—if you’re not familiar with Minx they’re individual stickers that are set with heat. i’m still not fully into how rough the edges feel, but i fear messing up the pattern if i file them. i’m also using gloves any time my hands are near water.

(also! bonus! i wasn’t really interested in football until christmas—watching the whole first season of Friday Night Lights while visiting your parents in Texas will do that to you!—but i’m very overjoyed that my Minx choice is inadvertently the colours of the Saints, thus making my superficial love of the game even more hilarious for tonight’s Super Bowl party.)

Written by Paige

February 7, 2010 at 6:37 pm

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i am having difficulty distinguishing where hand ends and sequin begins, but i have no problem distinguishing that they are so pretty.
    for some reason the ONLY place around here to do them is: surrey. boo.

    TStu

    February 7, 2010 at 11:09 pm

  2. Clearly, the colors were good luck.

    Question Mark

    February 7, 2010 at 11:54 pm

  3. Hey hey! How long do they last/ how do they come off? Tstu told me aaaaalll about them and got me all excited. st. louis has a few minxing places so I wanna get it done while I’m down here, does minxing have your seal of approval?

    Gabzzy

    February 18, 2010 at 1:09 am

    • they lasted 6 days for me–BUT! i am super OCD about picking at nail polish when there’s the slightest chip, so i considered that a record! (they tend to peel at the ends within the first few days–nothing major, the pattern i chose definitely hid the peeling well.) but yes, i would do them again FOR SURE!!

      oh, and as for removal.. the adhesive just starts to get loose and i was able to peel them off with minimal damage to my nail bed…

      paiiige

      February 18, 2010 at 2:07 pm

  4. This is stunning. I want these! Will make an appointment ASAP. 🙂

    kat

    March 1, 2010 at 9:15 pm

  5. […] finally! something to validate the very-focused nail growing and shaping i’ve been doing over the last month. (a look i dubbed as betty draper nails…) and also: oh hello, doesn’t that minx look familiar. […]

  6. I went!

    Like you I am not a fan of how rough the edges feel, and it was very pricey ($20 for a regular mani, $25 more for Minx). I didn’t find the mani itself that good/thorough. It was more like a basic mani – the Vietnamese ladies at multiple other salons in Toronto do a way more thorough/detailed job.

    It’s day 2 and I’m not sure how long these are gonna last…

    kat

    March 27, 2010 at 11:14 am

  7. OK, it only lasted 3 days. How long did yours last? I reviewed them: http://tinyurl.com/yf3tahs

    kat

    March 30, 2010 at 4:51 pm

    • i’ve seen other people’s regular manis from Heartbreaker and do think overall they do poor work (polish painted over cuticle beds, for example!)… but the minx lasted 6 days for me which is longer than any polish lasts on my hands (i get very OCD about picking any snags off!)

      i think the trick with minx is to:
      – keep your hands dry the first 24 hours
      – file the edges down if they really bug you!
      – use your own house lamps to reheat and stick any edges that come loose
      – pick a pattern that won’t look as obvious if it chips (mine had taupe-ish tones in it that blended in with my nails better than, say, the awesome silver would)

      bougybisous

      March 30, 2010 at 4:59 pm

  8. Nice! I wish I could buy the stickers myself and adhere them? For now I’ll stick to doing nail art with the thin brushes (especially if it’s stripes).

    One of the Minx nails (they didn’t have a full set of stripes) is still intact, but only because I cut the nail with a clipper and I think that adhesive was better quality than the others? So I painted the rest of my nails black to match.

    It’s weird that their regular mani for $20 isn’t that good…how do such salons compete with the Vietnamese-run ones that charge $8 and do a WAY better job?? Is it because some people don’t like sitting in dingy conditions or what!

    I love your nail fascination!

    kat

    March 30, 2010 at 5:02 pm

  9. […] to just forget the entire movie, Samantha’s nails are worth mentioning. because it’s minx and nail art galore! every outfit change required an entirely new designer manicure. and while the […]

  10. I just love this design of the MINX nails!! check out Christmas and New year’s MINX nails designs you will love themmmm!!
    http://fadykataya.wordpress.com/2011/12/05/minxy-christmas-alert/

    FadyKataya

    December 5, 2011 at 11:18 am


Leave a Reply

