bougy//bisous

joe fresh nail polish

with 7 comments


so! i’m not sure if it’s on shelves yet, but sarah got an incredible assortment in mail and was kind enough to lend me a few of the shades. joe fresh polish (you know, by the makers of every Canadian’s favourite clothing line) has launched with a huge collection of no name* colours, many of which don’t have an exact duplicate in other pastel collections out this season.


i do hate the bottle though. i know, it’s a $4 supermarket polish so it’s bound to look cutesy—but that round top is just not functional. the brush is also rather stubby. wide, yes, but stubby. it reminded me of nail polishes from decades past, when interesting colours always won over quality.


okay! the colour! this minty turquoise definitely found a home in my range of greens and blues. it’s different enough from all the others—a pastel without the excess opacity of a formula that’s too heavy on the white. it’s greener than Mint Candy Apple but bluer than Re-Fresh Mint, and with deeper pigmentation overall.


…which made me think it would actually be a close match to For Audrey (especially after it matched a Tiffany’s box of mine quite well!) but nope. the Joe Fresh shade is just too light. i kept it on for a few days to minimal chips and wear—i only removed it to do these swatches. i predict it’ll be back on my nails within a few polish changes. and maybe i can get my hands on a few of their other colours…

(*correction! i just discovered that there are names for each colour on the joe fresh site, however these names are purely functional-descriptive and don’t appear anywhere on the bottle. the colour i reviewed in this post is “mint”.)

Written by Paige

April 20, 2010 at 1:28 am

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Joe makes nail polish?! Thank you for making me aware of this!

    nicole

    April 20, 2010 at 9:15 pm

  2. What a great post. I keep scrolling up and down to take in all the colours and try to decide which ones I like best. Thanks for the eye candy!

    Dallas

    April 22, 2010 at 7:46 pm

  3. I knoooow I keep telling you this, but now I’m going to put it on the internet – I’m really into the rounded nails.

    natalie

    April 23, 2010 at 5:13 pm

  4. I AM IN LOVE WITH THIS COLOUR

    also am with natalie on the rounded nails. nice

    Marisa

    April 23, 2010 at 5:41 pm

  5. the names are on the bottles too. its on the bar code sticker in very very small font.

    Leanne

    June 13, 2010 at 10:16 pm

  6. nail polish that are acrylic based seems to last longer on my finger nails compared to water based ones ”’

    Audio Switch

    November 17, 2010 at 12:21 pm

  7. I was looking at Nicole by OPI but it’s $10 a bottle. Where I could be 3 bottle of Joe for $10.
    As I can see from your photo, colours are very nice and it looks smooth and nice.
    This nail polish has just right amount in a bottle (i don’t want too much of one colour, b/c I never finish using it). Thanks for your post. I think I’m going to try it and I think I’m going to buy this colour for summer.

    gracie

    February 24, 2011 at 9:23 pm


Leave a Reply

